Did you know there is a «hidden» app on your iPhone that is enabled in iOS and runs from the moment you switch it on? It is called Significant Locations (Significant Locations), and this service stores the places you visit and the locations you spend the most time in.
Apple’s official description of this app is as follows: “Allows your iPhone to learn places significant to you in order to provide useful location-related information in Maps, Calendar, Photos, and more. Significant Locations are encrypted and cannot be read by Apple.”
According to the manufacturer, your Apple device retains information about your frequently visited locations, but the company cannot access this data. Some users, however, question the disclaimer above and believe that this feature infringes on their rights regarding personal data.
But how do you find where to disable or select this service? Apple’s developers have made sure to hide location information deep within iOS. To find it, simply follow the path below:
Settings > Location Services > System Services > Significant Locations.
To be precise, System Services and Location Services can be found at the bottom of the Services list. To change the default setting, you will need to authenticate on your device by entering your passcode or using Touch or Face ID. This means it is something only the user of that particular iPhone can do.
When you select Significant Locations, you will see a detailed list of the addresses you have visited, along with the date and time of each visit. You can always delete your data history. One option is to remove each entry individually using Edit, and the second is to clear the entire History. You can also disable location data collection once and for all so that this information is no longer stored on your iPhone.




Share:
See all the changes coming to iPhone and iPad with iOS 14.2 and iPadOS 14.2
It's official: The Huawei Mate X2 supports 66W fast charging